Hare Krishna Meditation

There’s a dedicated team of people working at the Krishna.com office and warehouse to share Lord Krishna’s teachings with more than 2700 visitors a day (985,239 per year) from 228 countries, territories and islands. This time of year is when Krishna.com’s annual bills are due, such as property tax, insurance, and email newsletter services, adding up to several thousand dollars. We need your help to keep Krishna.com alive and vibrant. Please give a donation.

What is the Meaning of Hare Krishna Mantra?

Hare refers to the female and more compassionate aspect of the Supreme. Krishna means “all-attractive” and is God’s name. Rama means the spiritual pleasure that exists between Krishna and His loving servant. Hare Krishna mantra is like a prayer wherein you ask God to accept you in His service. Silas Prabhupada translates the Hare Krishna mantra like this: “Oh Lord, oh energy of the Lord, please engage me in Your divine service.”


Meditation is a spiritual practice found in practically all religious and spiritual traditions, although the methods differ.

Traditional yogic systems employ complex meditation techniques, often working with different postures to align our external and subtle selves and focus our minds towards self-realization. To quiet the mind and provide a point of focus, yogis are advised to concentrate on upon mantras including Sanskrit syllables and the names of God.

The Vanishing tradition recommends the chanting the names of God to be a particularly effective method of spiritual awakening, simultaneously opening us to an incredibly empowering experience.

In this system, meditation has three distinct forms: japa, kirtan and sanitarian. In japa, the meditator individually and softly recites God’s name with the use of beads, similar to a rosary. Kirtan is a public meditation, in which one loudly sings the names of God accompanied by musical instruments. When performed in a group this is called sankirtan.

This entire process is centered around the recitation of the names of God. The prayer or mantra that ISKCON devotees repeat is called the Maha Mantra, or the “great mantra for deliverance.” It is made up of three words Hare, Krishna and Rama. Hare refers to God’s energy. Krishna and Rama refer to God as the all-attractive and all-powerful one who is the source of all pleasure. Repetition of this mantra awakens the soul and brings strength, peace and happiness. It ultimately connects us with Lord Krishna and reveals our original spiritual life of eternal bliss and knowledge.

There are no hard and fast rules on how to chant Hare Krishna. Mahamantra, the great mantra, is a transcendental vibration that goes beyond matter and benefits anyone who hears it by uncovering and reawakening the spiritual consciousness dormant in all beings. However, the full revival of our original God consciousness doesn’t generally happen overnight – it is a gradual process. But even the first-time chanter can experience the bliss of mantra meditation and get profound realizations from their practice right from the start.

When to Chant?

You can sit down legs crossed or however you feel comfortable and chant Hare Krishna, you can take a walk and chant, you can chant when you’re taking a shower, driving a car, playing guitar, weeding the garden – anything. But for steady progress towards self-realization, the Vedas offer practical guidelines on how to execute mantra meditation most successfully. The peaceful, early morning hours when the passions of the new day have not surrounded you yet with work or school obligations, traffic noises and dealings with other people, are the best for sadhana, or spiritual practice. If morning is not a good time for you, you can schedule out some other time that you specifically dedicate for chanting. Even if you can only find 5 or 10 minutes every day to set aside as your meditation time, it is a great start.

How to Chant?

When you chant the mantra softly, speaking and repeating the mantra so that only you or someone close to you can hear you chant, it is called japa. When you sing the mantra to a melody, it is called kirtana. You can do either kirtana or japa at any time you want, but it is especially recommended to do japan-chanting during that meditation time you set aside every day. You can chant with japamala, japa beads, and count the mantras. Japamala has 108 beads. You chant the Hare Krishna mantra once on each bead, then move on to the next bead. I chant 16 rounds on my beads every day, which means 16 times 108 mantras. This is “the standard” amount of japa for those who have taken the vow of chanting and it takes about 1,5-2 hours.

Why to Chant?

The idea is not really to clear clear your mind of all thoughts and desires, as many think is the purpose of meditation. Krishna consciousness is a positive process for self-realization, and by chanting Hare Krishna all your thoughts and desires will be purified and restored to their original spiritual nature. This means that instead of self-centered, your consciousness will become more and more God-centered. You will realize more and more how you are not your temporary body, but the eternal being within. Consequently, the ups and downs of life will not affect you as intensely as before because your daily chanting will keep you in this transcendental state of mind.

Benefits of Chanting Hare Krishna Maha Mantra

  1. Dissolves bad habits, evil thoughts & Negative emotions,
  2. Get rid of fear, stress and anxiety
  3. Helps to achieve big
  4. It brings the highest state of ecstasy
  5. It brings joy, peace and happiness
  6. It relieves from all miseries
  7. Gives divine qualities likes Love, mercy and inner happiness
  8. It purify yourself and surrounding
  9. It cleans your mind and heart
  10. When you chant Hare Krishna Mantra, we start to clear the impure consciousness, that keeps us unhappy and away from our true self. This mantra in a way connects us to that higher energy and helps us to break away from that endless cycle and attachment to the physical world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *