Many are often confused about the differences between a vegan and a vegetarian diet, often called the ovo-lacto vegetarian diet. Veganism excludes the consumption of meat, also as eggs and dairy. folks that adhere to a vegan diet also don’t consume any animal byproducts like gelatin, rennet, and casein.
On the opposite hand, a vegetarian diet excludes the consumption of just meat — i.e., red meat, poultry, seafood, or the other animal.
There are many variations to the vegetarian diet, however. Flexitarians eat a diet that limits the intake of meat. for instance , a flexitarian (also called semi-vegetarians) may only eat meat 3 times per week and avoid eating it the opposite days. Pescatarians — or pesco-vegetarians—eat eggs, dairy products, and fish but avoid meat , poultry, and other sorts of animal flesh.
The other three main sorts of vegetarian diets are lacto-vegetarian, which excludes the consumption of meat , poultry, seafood, and eggs or products that contain them; ovo-vegetarian, which excludes the consumption of meat , poultry, seafood, and dairy or products that contain them; and ovo-lacto vegetarian—a combination of the 2 .
What is An Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian?
An ovo-Lacto vegetarian also referred to as a Lacto-ovo vegetarian, maybe a vegetarian who consumes some animal products. what’s the Difference Between Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian and a Vegan Diet?
Are Dairy and Eggs Vegetarian?
Since the typical vegetarian diet only excludes the consumption of animal flesh, dairy is taken into account vegetarians. For an equivalent reason, eggs also are considered vegetarian.
Eggs are derived from laying hens—a female chicken kept for the first purpose of laying eggs.
Hens are capable of laying eggs with or without the presence of a rooster (a male chicken). But so as for a chicken to develop from an egg, the egg must be fertilized. so as for an egg to be fertilized, hens and roosters must mate before a hen laying the egg.
Hens on factory farms are usually not kept alongside roosters, so it’s highly unlikely that eggs purchased from grocery stores will actually hatch.What Is the Difference Between Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian and a Vegan Diet?
Data shows the plant-based foods market is booming. | Unsplash
Egg and Dairy Industries
Data shows the plant-based foods market is booming while the traditional meat and dairy industries are either staying flat or decreasing.
According to the USDA, the consumption of dairy declined by 40 percent since 1975. The Dairy Farmers of America reported a $1.1 billion drop by milk sales in 2018.
Statistics from the great Food Institute indicate the plant-based dairy industry is now worth nearly $1.2 billion. In 2019, sales of plant-based milk grew six percent. The plant-based dairy industry’s value is projected to exceed $35 billion by 2026.
Consumer trends are clearly shifting faraway from the traditional meat and dairy industries and towards the plant-based foodstuff .What Is the Difference Between Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian and a Vegan Diet?
JUST Egg is formed from mung beans and is cholesterol-free and non-GMO. | JUST Egg
Vegan Egg Brands
1. Follow Your Heart VeganEgg
VeganEgg may be a whole egg replacer that imitates the taste and texture of eggs. These soy-based eggs are gluten-free and non-GMO. Each serving size contains three grams of protein and 35 calories.
2. JUST Egg
JUST Egg is formed from mung beans and is cholesterol-free and non-GMO. It scrambles and tastes a bit like eggs. JUST Egg contains five grams of protein and has 70 calories per serving.
3. Ener-G Egg Replacer
This egg replacer mimics the consistency of eggs in recipes by binding ingredients together. it’s perfect for baking and maybe wont to replace egg whites and egg yolks. The Egg Replacer’s ingredient list includes potato starch and tapioca starch flour. it’s not an honest source of protein and contains 15 calories per serving.
4. Bob’s Red Mill Egg Replacer
This vegan egg replacer is great for baking muffins, cakes, bread, and cookies. It features only four ingredients: potato starch, tapioca flour, bicarbonate of soda, and psyllium husk fiber. Bob’s Red Mill Egg Replacer is gluten-free, soy-free, and grain-free. It contains 30 calories per serving and isn’t an honest source of protein.
5. The Neat Egg Natural Vegan Egg Substitute
The Neat Egg is an easy-to-mix, natural egg replacement. It contains only two ingredients: chia seeds and garbanzo beans. The Neat Egg is non-GMO, soy-free, and gluten-free. It works best in recipes that need eggs as binders. It contains two grams of protein and 25 calories per serving. What Is the Difference Between Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian and a Vegan Diet?
Oatly carries many vegan milk options. | Oatly
Vegan Dairy Brands
1. Blue Diamond Almond Breeze
Blue Diamond’s non-dairy almond milk is out there in multiple flavors, however, not all of them are vegan as they contain honey. Vegan varieties include unsweetened and sweetened, chocolate, vanilla, and original.
This vegan milk brand has countless options to settle on from, including chocolate, orange mango, whole, semi, and thin. Oatly also offers vegan frozen dessert, yogurt, and on-the-go lattes.
Ripple’s one hundred pc vegan milk is out there in original, unsweetened original, vanilla, unsweetened vanilla, and chocolate. Ripple also carries vegan half and half, yogurt, soured cream , and frozen desserts.
4. So Delicious
This vegan milk brand features a plant-based dairy-free option for everybody. So Delicious offers almond milk, cashew milk, and coconut milk during a sort of flavors. The brand is totally vegan and also sells creamers, frozen desserts, yogurt, soured cream, cheese shreds, and more. What Is the Difference Between Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian and a Vegan Diet?https://i2.wp.com/cdn.livekindly.co/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/ovo-lacto-vegetarian-vegan-6-scaled.jpg?resize=1000%2C667&ssl=1
Miyoko’s Creamery carries countless vegan cheese and butter products. | Miyoko’s Creamery
1. Miyoko’s Creamery
Miyoko’s Creamery carries countless vegan cheese and butter products. Staples include vegan mozzarella, cheese spread, and cheese wheel.
Daiya’s one hundred pc plant-based and dairy-free cheeses are great for pizzas, macaroni and cheese, quesadillas, and more. Varieties include cheddar style, mozzarella style, pepper jack style, and classic blend.
3. Follow Your Heart
In addition to its vegan egg, Follow Your Heart carries countless vegan cheeses. Products include American slices, mozzarella shreds, gourmet shreds, provolone slices, medium cheddar slices, grated parmesan, pepper jack slices, and more.
4. Field Roast’s Chao
Field Roast is an artisanal plant-based meat company based in Seattle. The brand sells several sorts of vegan cheese, including the spicy, tomato cayenne Chao slices, and therefore the creamy original Chao slices. Field Roast also sells a spread of plant-based meats just like the Mexican chipotle sausages and therefore the celebration roast.